Skip to content

Can an Insurer Reject a Theft Claim Over Delay?

PS

9 min read

Short answer

No.

In Gurshinder Singh v. Shriram General Insurance Co. Ltd. (2020), the Supreme Court held that a stolen-vehicle claim cannot be denied merely because the insurer was told late. This applies where the owner lodged the FIR immediately, the police filed a final report after failing to trace the vehicle, and the insurer's own investigators found the theft genuine. The Court stated this rule for cases where all three facts exist, and it said the duty to co-operate is judged by breaches that actually prejudice the insurance company. The case concerned the theft of a tractor insured under a Commercial Vehicles Package Policy.

GURSHINDER SINGH v. SHRIRAM GENERAL INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR. (Civil Appeal No. 653 of 2020)

Supreme Court of India · 3 judges

What the Court held

Appeal allowed. The National Commission's order was set aside and the District Forum's order, as maintained by the State Commission, was restored. The 75% of the claim amount the insurer had deposited in the Supreme Court Registry could be withdrawn by Gurshinder Singh with accrued interest. The remainder was to be paid within six weeks, with interest at 12% per annum on the entire Rs.4,70,000 from the date of the District Forum's order until payment.

OutcomeAppeal(s) allowed

The Court accepted the appeal or petition, so it ruled in favour of the person who brought it.

Decided24 January 2020
Case numberCIVIL APPEAL No. 653/2020
JudgesN.V. Ramana, R. Subhash Reddy, Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai

Original judgment link not recorded

The laws it applied
ActSections
Consumer Protection Act
Standard Form for Commercial Vehicles Package Policy, Condition No. 1
The dispute

Gurshinder Singh, His Nakodar FIR, and Shriram General Insurance's 52-Day Objection

Gurshinder Singh insured his tractor with Shriram General Insurance on June 19, 2010. The tractor was stolen on October 28, 2010. He went to the police that same day, and an FIR was lodged at P.S. Nakodar, Jalandhar, Punjab.

He submitted his insurance claim on December 15, 2010. Shriram rejected it on the ground that intimation came belatedly, after 52 days. The District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum in Jalandhar allowed his complaint and directed Shriram to pay Rs.4,70,000, the declared insured value of the vehicle, within one month. The State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission in Punjab dismissed Shriram's appeal.

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission reversed both decisions. It relied on its own earlier ruling in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Trilochan Jane and dismissed the complaint. Gurshinder then came to the Supreme Court. A two-judge Bench referred the case to three judges because two earlier two-judge decisions pulled in opposite directions on the same delay question.

The legal question

Condition No. 1 of the Commercial Vehicles Package Policy and the Om Prakash–Parvesh Chander Chadha Split

The decisive provision was Condition No. 1 of the Commercial Vehicles Package Policy. Its first part requires immediate written notice to the insurer after accidental loss or damage. Its second part deals with theft or another criminal act. There, the insured must give immediate notice to the police and co-operate with the company in securing the conviction of the offender.

The Supreme Court's earlier decisions disagreed. In Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance, the vehicle was stolen on March 23, 2010, the FIR was lodged on March 24, 2010, and the insurance claim was lodged on March 31, 2010. The Supreme Court found cogent reasons for the delay and allowed the claim. It said "immediately" cannot be read so narrowly that a genuine claim is lost where the delay is explained.

Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Parvesh Chander Chadha went the other way. There the vehicle was stolen between January 18 and January 20, 1995, the FIR was registered on January 20, 1995, and the insurer was told only on May 22, 1995. The District Forum had allowed the owner's complaint, and the State Commission and the National Commission had upheld it. The Supreme Court reversed all three. It noted that the owner gave no explanation for the unusual delay. It held that the delay deprived the insurer of its legitimate right to have the theft inquired into and to try to recover the vehicle.

The Supreme Court also stressed in Gurshinder that the Consumer Protection Act is beneficial legislation and deserves pragmatic construction. The facts of Gurshinder's case were undisputed.

The decision

The Supreme Court's Verdict in Gurshinder Singh: Immediate FIR, Police Final Report and Genuine Theft Beat Bare Delay

The three-judge Bench agreed with Om Prakash. It held that the "duty to co-operate" must be judged on the facts of each case, with regard to breaches that are prejudicial to the insurance company. It then gave the governing rule:

when an insured has lodged the FIR immediately after the theft of a vehicle occurred and when the police after investigation have lodged a final report after the vehicle was not traced and when the surveyors/investigators appointed by the insurance company have found the claim of the theft to be genuine, then mere delay in intimating the insurance company about the occurrence of the theft cannot be a ground to deny the claim of the insured.

Applying that rule, the Court set aside the National Commission's order and maintained the District Forum's order. The insurer's investigators had reported on February 25, 2011 that Gurshinder's claim was genuine, and the police had admittedly filed a final report.

The Court closed two loopholes that insurers had used against genuine claims:

  • Accident wording applied to theft. The Court split Condition No. 1 into two parts. The immediate written notice to the company belongs to accidents, and for theft the immediate notice is to the police.
  • "Hyper technical" delay objections. The Court said denying a claim merely because there was some delay in telling the insurer is a hyper technical view, especially when the claim has been verified as genuine by the insurer's own investigator.
Where you stand

Gurshinder Singh's Rule Applied: Five Vehicle-Theft Claim Situations and the Delay Objection

Delay is one of the car insurance claim rejection reasons insurers raise, and this table shows how the judgment treats it in five situations.

Real-world situationOutcomeReason under this precedent
Vehicle stolen; FIR lodged the same day; police final report filed after failing to trace it; insurer's investigator finds the claim genuine; insurer told after 52 daysYesDelay alone cannot defeat an otherwise genuine and verified theft claim.
Vehicle stolen; FIR lodged the next day; insurance claim lodged on the eighth day after the theft, with cogent reasons for the delayYesIn Om Prakash, the Court allowed the claim because the delay was explained and the claim was genuine.
Vehicle stolen; FIR registered; insurer told only months later with no explanationNoIn Parvesh Chander Chadha, the Court rejected such a claim because the unexplained delay deprived the insurer of its right to inquire and try to recover the vehicle.
Police trace and return the stolen vehicle after the FIRNoThe Court noted there is no occasion to claim compensation once the vehicle is recovered.
Insurer's surveyor or investigator does not find the theft claim genuineNot coveredThe Court's holding is stated only for cases where the insurer's own investigators found the theft claim genuine.
What to do

Documents to Gather and Forum to Approach If Your Insurer Raises a Shriram-Style Delay Objection

If you are searching for what to do if an insurance company denies your claim in India, the route in this case was a consumer complaint, not an ordinary civil suit. Gurshinder Singh started at the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum. The matter then went to the State Commission and the National Commission, and finally to the Supreme Court.

Gather these records before you file:

  • The insurance policy, including the condition on notice of theft.
  • The FIR and the police final report stating that the vehicle was not traced.
  • The surveyor's or investigator's report, especially where it finds the theft genuine.
  • A record of the dates of the theft, the FIR and your claim to the insurer, along with a written explanation of any delay.

The mistake to avoid is leaving a delay unexplained. In Parvesh Chander Chadha the owner gave no explanation, and the claim failed. In Om Prakash the owner gave cogent reasons, and the claim succeeded.

Common Questions on Insurance Claim Delays and Consumer Rights

Can an insurance company reject a car theft claim only because the intimation was delayed?

No, if the insured lodged the FIR immediately after the theft, the police filed a final report after failing to trace the vehicle, and the insurer's investigator found the claim genuine. In that situation, mere delay in intimating the insurer cannot be a ground to deny the claim.

What should I do if an insurance company denies my claim in India?

In this case, the owner filed a complaint before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum. The dispute then went to the State Commission and the National Commission.

What are common car insurance claim rejection reasons under this Supreme Court rule?

The judgment does not list rejection reasons. It decides one: delay in telling the insurer cannot by itself defeat a theft claim that was reported to the police immediately, ended in a police final report, and was found genuine by the insurer's investigator.

Can a health insurance company reject a claim after three years?

This judgment does not set or apply a three-year rule. It concerned a 2010 vehicle theft, a same-day FIR, and a 52-day delay in informing the motor insurer.

What should I do if Star Health Insurance rejects my health insurance claim?

The Supreme Court judgment did not involve Star Health or a health insurance policy. It dealt only with the theft condition of a Commercial Vehicles Package Policy.

Is there a Supreme Court judgment on health insurance claims in this case?

No. This judgment dealt with the theft of a tractor under a Commercial Vehicles Package Policy, not with a health insurance policy.

0

Comments